What is The Chakra System?

A Chakra is an energy centre, a whirlpool of energy. The knowledge of the chakra system has been known to humans for thousands of years, cultures such as the ancient Egyptians considered the chakras and the glands to be two words describing the same thing. The chakras are wheels of light metaphysically overlaid nerve plexus at various locations of the body, each nerve plexus directs the secretions of the glands of the endocrine system creating chemical reactions within the body. Using the chakra system as a guide it makes it easier to locate the source of specific issues with stress and mental illness.

Think of it as a map to human consciousness and psychological development, the brain is like the software that processes what’s happening in the hardware that is the body. The secretions of the glands are guided by the inner workings of the unconscious mind dealing with mind state, digestion, breathing, and all other autonomic bodily functions. If our energy is flowing smoothly between Chakras, we feel well. If there is a blockage of energy, we can start to feel an inbalance.

What are the Seven Chakras?

Below is each chakra in its English name which refers to where abouts in the body it is located. Its Sanskrit name and associated colour.

  1. Root Chakra / Muladhara / Red
  2. Sacral Chakra / Swadishthana / Orange
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura / Yellow
  4. Heart Chakra / Anahata / Green
  5. Throat Chakra / Vishudha / Blue
  6. Third Eye Chakra / Ajna / Indigo
  7. Crown Chakra / Sahasrara / Purple

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Root means base, so this chakra is located around our tailbone. When this Chakra is balanced it helps us to feel grounded and secure. If you suffer with panic or anxiety, this could be due to an inbalance. A posture to heal and restore energy within this area is a seated thunderbolt position, to reconnect and ground through the earth.

Sacral Chakra (Swadishthana)

Located below the navel, the energy here is responsible for emotions and feelings. A blockage of this chakra can cause anxiety and depression. If the energy is strong within this chakra it promotes life longevity. We can heal this chakra through practicing savasana, childs pose, cobra, cat/cow, bow pose or wheel.

Solar Plexus (Manipura)

This chakra is located at the navel, the energy here provides us with our self belief, confidence and ego energy. Signs of an inbalance in this chakra include digestive issues such as indigestion or constipation. Flowing through a few rounds of Surya Namaskara or Sun Salutations can help to heal this chakra.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is the seed of love and love for others. People who struggle with self love and appreciation towards themselves have a blockage within this area. To heal this chakra practicing inversions such as shoulder stand or headstand to increase blood flow will help to take pressure off the heart.

Throat Charkra (Vishudha)

The throat chakra is located within the throat, and it helps our energy to flow upwards towards the crown, linking the lower chakras to the chakras in the head. This chakra is responsible for our self expression, if this is something we struggle with, showing our emotions or speaking our truth, we may have a blockage of the throat. We can heal this chakra through opening postures such as fish pose, plough or camel.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows. This chakra is responsible for our intelligence, intuition, dreams, imagination and our memories. This is a common focus point during meditation. Do you struggle getting a good nights sleep? This could be down to an inbalance with this chakra. Improve your sleep by working on this chakra through meditation and gazing at a focus point.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The final of the seven chakras, our crown chakra is in charge of our universal energy, our spiritual and divine wisdom. To clear this chakra and find harmony here, practicing inversions such as headstand or handstand will increase the blood flow and stimulation of this chakra. Living with Self discipline and Social discipline will help this energy to move freely.

Interested in learning more about the Chakras?
Join us at our event “Pranayama Breathwork” with Kev Deaves
this Sunday 15th March at The Studio Manchester!

Click to book HERE